DECISION SCIENCES INSTITUTE - SOUTHWEST REGION YEAR 2010 PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

Welcome! Bien venidos!

Huan Ying! Bienvenue!

Ira Sha I Ma Sen! Selamat Datang!

On the behalf of the 2010 SWDSI Executive Council and the Conference Organizing Committee, permit me to welcome you to the Great State of Texas. Thank you so much for joining us in Dallas, the eighth largest city in the United States. The metropolitan area of Dallas is the fourth largest in the country. So, please take some time during your time in Dallas to visit some of the many noteworthy places such as the Cotton Bowl, Cowboys Stadium, Dallas World Aquarium, Dallas Zoo, Nasher Sculpture Center, Reunion Tower, The Sixth Floor Museum, and Victory Plaza, just to name a few.

Under the leadership of Dr. Roderick Posey, the 2010 Organizing Committee has put together a stellar program. Like in previous years, the program included pre-conference training sessions that can help faculty improve teaching effectiveness. Throughout the three day conference, the schedule included many papers covering a broad spectrum of topics that were authored by delegates around the country and the Southwest region in particular. To Dr. Posey, the many track chairs, paper reviewers, and session chairs, thank you so much for your dedication and contribution to making this conference such a success. Indeed, congratulations to the 2010 Team for a job well done!

Like in past years, two major committees were formed and charged with the identification of the recipients for the annual awards conferred by the Decision Sciences Institute Southwest Region. The two committees received some very competitive nominations and after a very thorough examination of the nominees, the recipients of the prestigious awards are:

Dr. Lynn Heinrichs – SWDSI 2010 Distinguished Services Award Dr. David Douglas – SWDSI 2010 Educator of the Year Award.

Congratulations to Dr. Heinrichs and to Dr. Douglas! We are proud of your many accomplishments, and contributions! Please keep up the good work!

The Committee that has worked so diligently on the Educator of the Year Award are Dr. Cronan (Chair), Dr. Pavur, Dr. Liu, Dr. Hsieh, and Dr. Kitchens. Members of the Distinguished Service Award Committee that have contributed to the selection process are Dr. Lin (Chair), Dr. Pinney, Dr. Landram, Dr. Maniam, and Dr. Fischer. To each of these very generous colleagues that have given so much of their time for this important task, thank you so very much.

It is extremely critical that everyone come and join us for the Business Meeting on Thursday evening. Dr. Keong Leong, President-Elect of the Decision Sciences Institute will be present to address the membership so if you have some questions or input for him to consider, please come and visit with him. There will be a number of items that the Strategic Planning Committee will also be asking the membership to vote on that evening. This Committee, consisting of Dr. Jones (Chair), Dr. Pavur, Dr. Hanna, and Dr. Lin, has put in numerous hours working on a number of critical operational issues so please come and give us your input as well as vote on them. By the way, please join me to thank the members of this committee for their invaluable work for the Southwest Chapter. Also, please join us for the simple reception that will be hosted after the Business Meeting. By the way, attendance at the Executive Council Meeting on Thursday morning is open to all members so please feel welcome to attend as well.

Dr. Daily, Dr. Hsieh and Dr. Chou have also been most kind to serve on this year's nomination committee. This committee spend hours recruiting and selecting among the many excellent candidates. Thank you so much for your contribution on this committee. To our next Program Chair-Elect as well as our newly elected Executive Council Members, welcome and thank you for your willingness to serve. May you find fulfillment in your services to the members of this remarkable region!

In closing, I want to thank all of you for this privileged to serve you as President. Many people on the Executive Council have helped me to make the year a success. In particular, I would like to thank Dr. Pavur for accepting my plea for help to serve as Secretary, to Dr. Jones and Dr. Lin for the many prompt and invaluable advices on processes that I must follow and comply, and to Dr. Rebman for the many corrections and changes to the Website. To all the current SWDSI officers, thank you from the bottom of my heart for your assistance throughout my term of office. To Dr. Daily, Dr. Chou, Dr. Lin, Dr. Hsieh and Dr. Jones, thank you for being my mentors. To Dr. Cronan, please accept my appreciation for being my very capable right hand man. Most of all, please accept my heartfelt appreciation and thank you so much, the members and delegates of SWDSI 2010, for making this conference and this chapter a success. May I ask you to join Dr. Carl Rebman, our Program Chair for SWDSI 2011, for our next annual meeting? In addition, please offer a helping hand to Dr. Cronan, our next President, to move our chapter to new heights of excellence.

Best wishes for a pleasant stay in Dallas and may you have a safe trip home.

Dr. Kai S. Koong SWDSI President